If My People

I try to tell myself that today is no different than any day in the last four years. No wonder I feel terrible. I turned off the tv last night about 10:30 and went to bed. I went to bed, but I didn’t get much sleep.

This morning and throughout the day I have received emails and texts from friends asking some hard questions. “I don’t understand how God would allow this leadership in government. Is this His will?” “How do I get past the anger and anxiety?” “What are Christians suppose to do now?” Reminds me of the Psalmist lament in 11:3, “When the foundations are being destroyed, what can the righteous to do?” I wish I had an answer for the Psalmist.

One friend told me she could not remember an election so prayed over. I had made that same observation. I can’t recall more materials coming across my desk, more calls for prayer and fasting, and even prayer meetings for an election than this one. “Why didn’t God answer those prayers?” I don’t know that one either.

But I can say this with full confidence: Purity is on the other side of the refiner’s fire. God wants a holy people. And let’s be honest, the church is far from it. Oh, we’ll be decent and kind as long as it doesn’t inconvience us, but even in churches we don’t use the word “holy” anymore. We pretend the word is too offensive to others, but the reality is, it’s too offensive to us.

Our nation is in need of a Great Awakening. The foundations are being destroyed before our eyes and we are helpless to do anything about it. Or are we? I believe the cure begins with each one of us. 2 Chronicles 7:14 says, “if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

Did you notice who God requires to humble themselves, pray, seek His face, and turn from their wicked ways? Is it the entire country? Is it the government? No, it is His people. We must be the ones to pursue holiness in our lives. And when we do, God will heal our land.

The world will continue to act like the world. But judgement comes when God’s people act like the world. Or didn’t we read the Old Testament? How serious are you willing to get with the Lord about your sin and His holiness? Are you willing to turn from you wicked ways? Will you humble yourself before the the Lord? There is no more time for games with God. He is not one to be triffle with.

What we do now as Christians is to humble ourselves before God, confess our sin and turn from it, and seek to honor Him in all our ways. Then God will hear us and heal our land.

Psalm 139:23-24

Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

Tune in tomorrow to hear from Jonathan Witherspoon, a minister and signer of the Declaration of Independence, on his thoughts concerning this.

3 Comments

Filed under Church, Discipleship, Government, Holiness, Prayer, Revival

3 responses to “If My People

  1. Colette Ladbrook

    HI MIKE Good words – thanks for sharing.

    I guess I am still confused because some of my good Christian friends still voted for Obama.

    God’s people that I go to church with –

    We are in NZ now- so doesn’t directly affect us – but seems like Obama doesn’t defend Israel – so might affect the whole world.

    Thanks for your good words! Keep writing and sharing!

    Thanks,

    Colette Ladbrook

  2. Elizabeth O'Steen

    Mike,
    I woke up this morning and thought, , my joy comes from the Lord not man. As disappointed I was this morning, I know that if the Lord wanted to win this election, He would have. I also KNOW He heard the cries and prayers that we all lifted up in HIs son’s name, Jesus. Not sure of His plan but just have to trust. If you hear of anyone building an ark, please post, I’ll be ready and able to help!!
    Blessings,
    Elizabeth

  3. Bart

    Hi Mike, I am going to pray for the USA & hope for the best. Bart

Leave a Reply

