For Keeps

My wife and I were talking with some friends the other day about our kids’ art work. You know, the stuff you hang on the refrigerator and then file for all eternity. We were discussing what to do with all of it. My wife believes that one day we will give it to our kids and they will say thank you with a tear in their eye and we will all walk down memory lane together holding hands. Beautiful.

I believe most of it is destined for a garbage can, and the sooner the better. Some stuff is for keeps (I’m not that heartless) but practically speaking, what are they going to do with it? Do we plan to give it all to them when they get their first apartment so they can decorate with it? Are we going to present it to them at their rehearsal dinner? Can’t we avoid the hassle of saving it, storing it, moving it, and get rid of most of the stuff now?

I don’t really have to tell you how it was answered do I?

Yesterday I was having lunch with a friend and we were talking about prayer. He mentioned that God saves our prayers. Revelation 5:8, “And when he had taken it, the four living creatures and the twenty-four elders fell down before the Lamb. Each one had a harp and they were holding golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints.” It is kinda thrown in there like an, “Oh by the way” kinda thing, but it’s there. It appears God saves our prayers, in golden bowls no less. Each one means that much to Him.

And then God made the connection for me. I immediately thought back to my kids’ art work. Some artwork is pretty good. Some of it seems incomplete. Some artwork doesn’t make sense. Some of it we use for holiday decoration. Some is framed and hanging on our walls. Some is tacked to the refrigerator, most is stored away in a box. All of it is saved.

Perhaps our prayers are like kid artwork. Realizing that our prayers mean that much to God, should help us realize how much each one of us is loved by Him. Not only does He hear our prayers, He saves them. The good ones, the bad ones, the ones that don’t make much sense, the incomplete ones, the colorful ones, the dark ones. He’s got them all. It makes me want to pray more. It makes me want to pray like a child. My guess is, those are His favorite ones anyway.

Looks like we’ll be keeping the kids’ artwork. All of it. Especially after my wife reads this.

4 Comments

Filed under Kids, Life, Prayer

4 responses to “For Keeps

  1. Shelley

    Don’t feel bad, Mike. I throw most of it away and I’m a MOM! Thankful that our God isn’t anything like me 🙂

  2. What a great illustration of how we really are His children. I had to dig out some of my girl’s priceless art last night. It’s a great reminder that God doesn’t want perfection in our prayers, He just wants us.

    Al is always right, Mike.

  3. NBB

    You are a real man to admit Al is right! You finally figured that out about her!
    I am glad He saves my prayers. They are like kid artwork – getting better with age.

  4. Suzanne

    Love this article, Mike! Laura J. recommended that I read it! LOVE IT! Suzanne

Leave a Reply

