Standing Firm: Marriage

This the last post of a 4 part series, Stand Firm.  I encourage you to check out It’s a Fight, True-ish Ain”t True, and Stand Firm as well.

 God’s battle plan for us is to stand firm.  That’s it.  We don’t have to burn books, attack our persecutors, or outwit our opponents.  That is because “the battle is not ours, but God’s.” (2 Chron 20:15).  “Not by might, nor by power, but by my Spirit, says the Lord Almighty.” (Zech 4:6).  It is His fight and His orders are for us to stand firm.  A quick scan shows at least 21 times in the New Testament that command is given.

Let me show you what it looks like to stand firm in our culture today. 

Marriage is the union between one man and one woman.  That truth is affirmed in Scriptures from the very beginning.  God creates the institution of marriage as the relational foundation for society in Genesis chapter 2.  Jesus affirms marriage by referring us back to God’s original intention for marriage (Matthew 19:4-6). Paul quotes the same passage and expounds on it by declaring that marriage represents the mystical union of Christ and the church.  (Ephesians 5:31-32).  Marriage is the union between husband and wife.

This is not my opinion.  I did not create marriage, it was not my idea.  It was here long before I got here and will be here long after I am gone.  It is God’s opinion.  The Scriptures are very clear on this.  And so I stand firm.  I choose God’s truth over “tolerance.”  What about you?

Now I know the slogans:  “Everyone has a right to love” (true-ish).  I love love.  Who doesn’t love love?  All you need is love.  But love and marriage are not the same thing.  Marriage has always been understood as a life-long bond between a woman and a man.  People may argue that the Bible has examples of men having multiple wives so the definition of one man-one woman doesn’t even work in the Scriptures.  Actually, find me an example in the Scriptures where a marriage with multiple partners worked out well.  Abraham, Jacob, and David (to name a few) all had family problems because they stepped outside of this definition of marriage.  Again, Jesus points us back to God’s intention for marriage in Matthew 19.

 Some argue, “But doesn’t everyone have the same right to be married?”  They sure do.  Everyone has the right to get married, so long as they marry one person of the opposite sex and are of legal age.  I don’t have a right to do otherwise either.

“Then why don’t we change those rights?”  The state does not grant human rights.  John F. Kennedy affirmed this truth, “The rights of man come not from the generosity of the state but from the hand of God.”  Otherwise, the state could revoke them whenever the right becomes inconvenient to it.

Another slogan says, “I’m straight but I’m not narrow.”  This is to appeal to those who wish to be viewed as open-minded.  (Please see post, The Open-Minded Deception.)  Let me remind you of the words of Jesus in the Sermon on the Mount, “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

To redefine marriage is to go the way of the wide gate and broad road.  Destruction is the outcome.  Narrow is the road that leads to life.  Narrow is not a bad place to be at all according to Jesus.

Some readers may feel angry about what I have written.  And they may let me know it.  Some will tell me that they are saddened that I couldn’t be more accepting of others.  How disappointed they are that their minister isn’t more loving.  All I did was stand firm. 

When Paul commands us to stand firm in Ephesians 6, he goes on to tell us to put on the full armor of God.  Have you ever noticed that the armor of God is all defensive?  That’s because we are not attacking anyone.  I did not attack anyone in my defense of marriage.  Actually the armor comes with shoes of readiness to share the gospel of peace.  God loves everyone and does not want to see anyone perish but have everlasting life.  This gift is for everyone who hears it and turns to Jesus! 

If you are uneasy with this stand, then you are out of whack with the truth of God and you need to get that straightened out.  That uneasiness is the Sword of the Spirit at work.  The word of God is alive and active and sharper than any two-edged sword.  It cuts to the heart and exposes our pride and prejudices.  It convicts us of where we are at crossways with God and His truth.

If you declare that Jesus is your Lord, Savior, and King, then you have to submit your opinion to the truth of the Word of God.  That is what it means to confess Jesus is Lord.  If I have opinions that are contrary to Scripture, I must change my mind.  If your opinion on this is contrary to scripture I am calling you to repent.  Change your mind and stand firm on the truth of God’s Word! 

One of the ways I am asking you to stand firm is to check out the Manhattan Declaration.  It is a public stand of Christians to defend the sanctity of life, marriage, and religious liberty.  Sign it and share it with your friends.   It is a call of conscience for Christians.  I also encourage you to check out the National Organization for MarriageThis group is standing firm and offers great resources on this issue.

Jesus says in Luke 21:9, “By standing firm you will gain life.”   The reason we only have to stand firm is because the victory is already won. 

God is looking for men and women who will stand firm.  I would love to hear where you have stood firm in the faith.  Where is God calling you to stand firm on the Word of God?  I encourage you to put on the full armor of God and then stand.

4 Comments

Filed under Beliefs, Bible, Discipleship, Marriage, Religious Liberty

4 responses to “Standing Firm: Marriage

  1. Kelli Wheeler

    Amen!
    I love when you say to notice that the tolerant are not tolerant when you don’t agree. I was telling Jeff that there has been so much posted on this subject in the last month and honestly I have felt attacked even though I have yet to comment on anyones post.

  2. kathleen

    I don’t know what this website is, but I like the content and am inspired by it. THanks for posting. I hope it will lead to real change and not just go in one ear and out the other.

Leave a Reply

